VIVA Africa Sports

.

Spain win on penalties to reach final

Cesc Fabregas struck the winning spot kick as holders Spain beat Portugal 4-2 on penalties after their Uefa Euro 2012™ semifinal ended goalless after extra time on Wednesday. Spain keeper Iker Casillas saved Joao Moutinho’s opening penalty then Bruno Alves hit the bar to eventually open the door for substitute Fabregas, who scored via the post.World champions Spain have reached a third consecutive major tournament final, which will be played in Kiev on Sunday, equalling the record set by West Germany in the early 1970s.

It was the second successive game to go to penalties after Italy beat England in the last eight, with the Italians playing Germany in Warsaw on Thursday in the second semifinal.”I had a funny feeling about the penalties and I was thinking about them this afternoon,” said Fabregas.”They told me intially to take the second one but I said no give me the fifth as I had this premonition.”When I stepped up to take the penalty I said to the ball that we had to make history and it shouldn’t let me down.Portugal coach Paulo Bento added: “If I had to choose a way of losing I wouldn’t choose this way… but Spain are a great team and we can leave with our heads high.”

VIVA SPORTS TEAM

 

Filed under: VIVA Sports TV,

Leave a Reply

Follow us on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,074 other followers

